Sun. Jun 23rd, 2024

India, 2nd November 2023: BITS Pilani, a renowned institution known for its commitment to innovation is pleased to announce Prof. Soumyo Mukherji as the Director of the Hyderabad Campus for a period of five years. He will be joining BITS Pilani, Hyderabad Campus on 01 January 2024 and will take over charge from Prof G Sundar . Pro. Mukherjee is presently serving in the Department of Biosciences & Bioengineering as the Madhuri Sinha Chair Professor in Biomedical Engineering at IIT Bombay. He is also an Associated Faculty Member at the Centre for Research in Nanotechnology and Sciences and the Centre of Excellence in Nanoelectronics.

Prof Mukherjii

Prof. Mukherji has served in several administrative positions at IIT Bombay. He served as the Dean of Student Affairs (2015-2019), as the Head of the Centre for Research in Nanotechnology & Science as well as the Head of the Sophisticated Analytical Instrument Facility (2010-13). He has supervised more than 30 PhD scholars and more than 60 Masters students.

Welcoming Professor Mukerji to BITS Pilani, Professor V. Ramgopal Rao, Vice Chancellor for BITS Pilani, said, “We are pleased to have Prof. Soumyo Mukherji on board and wish him all success in his new assignment. I am confident Prof. Mukherjee will be pushing the institute agenda of growth and excellence in teaching programmes, research, innovation, industry and alumni engagement in his capacity as the Director, BITS Hyderabad Campus.”

He further added, “I also take this opportunity to thank Prof G Sundar who has been extremely successful in his tenure as the Director of the Hyderabad campus since 17 July 2016. With his dynamic leadership, the campus has achieved significant milestones and grown manifold, taking the campus and BITS Pilani to greater heights. Prof. Sundar will continue to serve as the Director (Off Campus Programmes and Industry Engagement).”

Prof. Mukherji obtained his Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill, USA). He completed his B.Tech. in Instrumentation Engineering from IIT Kharagpur and did his M.S. from Colorado State University (Fort Collins, USA). He has been conferred the Fellowship of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE) and Fellowship of the National Academy of Sciences, India (FNASc).

By team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *