Sun. Jun 23rd, 2024


Kerala, November 3rd, 2023: The Indian Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA), the premier industry association dedicated to the growth and development of the Indian Electronic System Design and Manufacturing (ESDM) industry constituted its Chapter in Kerala. In line with IESA’s mission, this chapter will catalyse to create a world-class ecosystem to promote innovation and the adoption of ESDM technologies in Kerala for its sustainable growth. The Kerala Chapter was inaugurated by Mr. Narayan Moorthy, CMD of KELTRON, in an event held at Rajagiri Engineering College in the presence of distinguished luminaries from the electronics industry and academia.

“IESA is not just shaping the future; it’s pioneering it’ said Mr. Sanjay Gupta, Chairman IESA on this occasion. “As India’s electronics and semiconductor ecosystem continues to evolve, it’s not merely a story of growth; it’s a narrative of transformation and triumph. With relentless innovation at its core, this ecosystem is emerging as a beacon of technological prowess, poised to electrify the world and power the future.. The future is not just promising; it’s electrifying”

“The constitution of the IESA chapter in Kerala signifies a significant step forward in bolstering the electronics and semiconductor ecosystem in the state” said Mr. K. Krishna Moorthy, President, and CEO of IESA. He highlighted IESA’s role in creating various national and state level semiconductor policies, and the potential opportunities in this sector for Kerala in India’s ‘Make in India for the World’ initiatives.

In the recent past, 7 institutions based in Kerala had bagged “Chip to Startup” program offered by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), with a total project outlay of around 15 Crores. This program is expected to create around 30 Semiconductor IPs and upskill more than 2000 engineering students in the next couple of years in the state. This will significantly lay a strong foundation for Fabless Semiconductor IPs, SoCs and Systems ecosystem in the state.

Mr. Narayan Moorthy, CMD KELTRON, shared the journey of KELTRON since its inception and its various flagship products. He touched upon the various initiatives to create a Fabless Semiconductor Park in the state. The importance of collaborations between public and private entities to grab opportunities in the emerging technologies and IESA’s liaison role was also highlighted.

With a network of seven thriving chapters and membership exceeding 300, IESA stands tall with 19 years of legacy of driving innovation solidifying its position as a cornerstone of India’s electronics and semiconductor sector.

Mr. Susanth Kurunthil, CEO Infopark offered full support to promote ventures emerging in the electronics and semiconductor industry.

The IESA leadership announced Mr. Rijin John, the Co-founder & Director of Silizium Circuits Semiconductors and Mr. Jyothis Indrabhai, Co-founder & CEO Netrasemi Semiconductors as the IESA Kerala Chapter Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson respectively. They also honoured the different institutions and start-ups that bagged the Chips to Startups (C2S)program.

Mr. Sanjay Viswanathan, the Guest of Honour and the Chairman of AdiGroup, an NRI with ancestral roots in Palakkad shared his entrepreneurial experience and the potential for Kerala to become a Trillion Dollar economy.

Semiconductors play a pivotal role in emerging technologies like artificial intelligence, 5G, cloud computing, and the Internet of Things, with applications from LED bulbs to smartphones. The global semiconductor market is projected to grow from $573.44 billion in 2022 to $1,380.79 billion in 2029, exhibiting a CAGR of 12.2 per cent .

“Experienced electronics professionals from Kerala working in various leading companies across the globe is one of the key strengths of the state. At the same time, the outflow of youngsters migrating abroad will be a challenge in the long run. IESA Kerala Chapter will focus to bridge this gap by working closely with academia, industry and different professional bodies” said Rijin John, IESA Kerala Chapter Chairperson and Co-founder of Silizium Circuits Semiconductors.

The event was graced by distinguished luminaries from academia, startups and the electronics industry, making it a memorable and momentous occasion for the state’s technology ecosystem.

Prof Karunakara Menon, C2S Rajagiri, Mr. Krishna Kumar Rao, Senior Director- CDAC, Fr Joel Punnolil, Asst. Director Rajagiri, and Mr. Jyothis Indrabhai, CEO Netrasemi Pvt Ltd and Fr Jaison Paul Mulerikkal, Vice-Principal Rajagiri addressed the gathering.

The establishment of this chapter with 17 founding members team signifies a good start and a resounding commitment to fostering innovation, entrepreneurship, and economic development in the electronics and semiconductor domain.

By team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *